The Advi­so­ry Board sup­ports the work of the FRFG:

The advi­so­ry board brings togeth­er renowned per­son­al­i­ties from acad­e­mia, pol­i­tics, busi­ness and soci­ety who advise the foun­da­tion in its work.


Stephan Baldin, man­ag­ing chair­man of the Aach­en­er Stiftung since 1995

Prof. Dr. Dieter Birn­bach­er, pro­fes­sor emer­i­tus of Phi­los­o­phy at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Düs­sel­dorf, mem­ber of the Cen­tral Ethics Com­mis­sion of the Ger­man Med­ical Association

Prof. Dr. Jür­gen Borchert, Judge at the Hes­sia Social Court in Darmstadt

Prof. Dr. Luc Bovens, profes­sor of Phi­los­o­phy  at the Lon­don School of Eco­nom­ics and Polit­i­cal Science

Prof. Dr. Louis Chau­v­el , pro­fes­sor of Social Sci­ence at the Insti­tute d’Etudes Poli­tiques de Paris, sec­re­tary gen­er­al of the Euro­pean Soci­o­log­i­cal Asso­ci­a­tion and mem­ber of the exec­u­tive com­mit­tee at the Inter­na­tion­al Soci­o­log­i­cal Asso­ci­a­tion (ISA)

Prof. Dr. Claus Dierksmeier, direc­tor of the Wel­tethos-Insti­tut, an organ­i­sa­tion found­ed by Hans Küng, at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Tübin­gen, ear­li­er:  Dis­tin­guished Pro­fes­sor for Glob­al­iza­tion Ethics at Stone­hill Col­lege in Eas­t­on (Boston), USA

Dr. Reinald Eich­holz, mem­ber of the Ger­man Com­mit­tee for UNICEF, of the Coor­di­na­tion Group of the Nation­al Coali­tion for the Imple­men­ta­tion of the Children’s Rights Char­ter of the UN in Ger­many, mem­ber of the board of trustees of the Future Foun­da­tion for Education

Prof. Dr. Bern­ward Gesang, Pro­fes­sor for Philosopo­hy and The Ethics of Eco­nom­ics at the Uni­ver­i­ty of Mannheim, author of “May I or must I? The Phi­los­o­phy of Right Action” (Darf ich das oder muss ich sog­ar? Die Philoso­phie des richti­gen Han­delns).

Prof. Dr. Edel­traud Gün­ther, Direc­tor of the Unit­ed Nations Uni­ver­si­ty Insti­tute for Inte­grat­ed Man­age­ment of Mate­r­i­al Flux­es and of Resources (UNU-FLORES)

Prof. Dr. Karl Heinz Haus­ner, pro­fes­sor of Eco­nom­ics, espe­cial­ly polit­i­cal econ­o­my at the Hochschule des Bun­des für öffentliche Ver­wal­tung (insti­tu­tion of high­er edu­ca­tion for pub­lic admin­is­tra­tion)  in Mannheim

Dr. Uwe Jean Heuser, head of the mar­ket­ing depart­ment of the week­ly news­pa­per “Die Zeit”

Prof. Dr. Vit­to­rio Hösle, pro­fes­sor of Phi­los­o­phy at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Notre Dame in the USA

Prof. Dr. Klaus Hur­rel­mann, Senior Pro­fes­sor of Pub­lic Health and Edu­ca­tion at Her­tie School of Gov­er­nance in Berlin, leader of the Shell Youth Survey

Prof. Dr. Ann-Kristin Kölln, pro­fes­sor of Polit­i­cal Sci­ence at Aarhus Uni­ver­si­ty, Denmark

Bet­ti­na König, MdA, Mem­ber of the Berlin House of Rep­re­sen­ta­tives for the SPD, author of the book „Vom Prak­tikum zum Job“

Dr. Annette Lep­e­nies, pro­fes­sor and psy­chother­a­pist, organ­is­er of many inter­gen­er­a­tional projects and sci­en­tif­ic expo­si­tions includ­ing „Old and Young: the Adven­ture of Gen­er­a­tions”, Cre­ator of the Ear­ly Excel­lence-Cen­tres in Germany

Rüdi­ger Maas, Founder and Direc­tor of the “Insti­tut für Gen­er­a­tio­nen­forschung” (Insti­tute for Gen­er­a­tional Research)

Dr. Gisela Meis­ter-Scheufe­len, lawyer, for­mer chan­cel­lor of the Baden-Wuert­tem­berg Coop­er­a­tive State Uni­ver­si­ty, state-sec­re­tary for Econ­o­my and Tech­nol­o­gy in Berlin and head of depart­ment at the Finan­cial Min­istry of Baden-Württemberg

Prof. Dr. Miha­j­lo D. Mesarovic, pro­fes­sor of Sys­tem Engi­neer­ing and Math­e­mat­ics at Case West­ern Reserve Uni­ver­si­ty, USA; pio­neer of Sys­tem Research, UNESCO Sci­en­tif­ic Advi­sor on Glob­al Change and mem­ber of the Club of Rome

Prof. Dr. Mein­hard Miegel, founder of the “Denkw­erk Zukun­ft” foun­da­tion for cul­tur­al renew­al, for­mer chair­man of the Insti­tute of Econ­o­my and Society

Prof. Dr. Huber­tus Müller-Groel­ing, for­mer Vice Pres­i­dent at the Insti­tute of Glob­al Econ­o­my in Kiel

Prof. Dr. Julian Nida-Rümelin, pro­fes­sor of Polit­i­cal The­o­ry and Phi­los­o­phy at Lud­wig Max­i­m­il­ian Uni­ver­si­ty in Munich, for­mer Min­is­ter of Cul­ture and Mem­ber of the Gov­ern­ment, for­mer Pres­i­dent of the Ger­man Asso­ci­a­tion for Philosophy

Prof. Dr. Claus Offe, pro­fes­sor of Polit­i­cal Sci­ence at Her­tie School of Gov­er­nance in Berlin

Tobias Popovic, pro­fes­sor for Cor­po­rate & Sus­tain­able Finance | Finan­cial Mar­kets & Ser­vices | CSR at the Uni­ver­si­ty for Tech­nol­o­gy Stuttgart (HFT), Co-Direc­tor Cen­ter for Sus­tain­able Busi­ness and Man­age­ment (ZNWM), Ethics Offi­cer at HFT Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Dr. Franz-Josef Radermacher
is Head of the Board and sci­en­tif­ic direc­tor of the Research Insti­tute for Appli­ca­tion Ori­ent­ed Knowl­edge Pro­cess­ing, FAW, Ulm, mem­ber of the Club of Rome

Prof. Dr. Bernd Raf­fel­hüschen, pro­fes­sor of Nation­al Econ­o­my at the Uni­ver­si­ty Albert-Lud­wig in Freiburg and at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Bergen, Norway

Dr. Wolf­gang Reinicke, pres­i­dent of the Glob­al Pub­lic Pol­i­cy Insti­tute, for­mer researcher and advi­sor at the Brook­ings Insti­tu­tion in Wash­ing­ton D. C., the World Bank’ s strat­e­gy bureau and for ex-sec­re­tary gen­er­al of the UN, Kofi Annan

Prof. Dr. Wolf­gang Seil­er, for­mer direc­tor of the Fraun­hofer Insti­tute for Atmos­pher­ic Envi­ron­men­tal Research and the Insti­tute for Mete­o­rol­o­gy and Cli­mate Research, mem­ber of the cir­cle of experts for glob­al envi­ron­men­tal aspects (GUA) of the fed­er­al gov­ern­ment depart­ment for Edu­ca­tion and Research

Prof. Dr. Hans Joachim Schellnhu­ber, direc­tor emer­i­tus of Pots­dam Insti­tute for Cli­mate Impact Research (PIK), for­mer direc­tor of the Tyn­dall Cen­tre for Cli­mate Change Research, Angela Merkel’s head advi­sor on Glob­al Change, mem­ber of the Government’s Board of Trustees on Glob­al Envi­ron­men­tal Change (WGBU)

Prof. Dr. Dr. Udo E. Simo­nis, pro­fes­sor emer­i­tus of Polit­i­cal Sci­ence with focus on Inter­na­tion­al Envi­ron­men­tal Pol­i­cy at the Research Cen­tre in Berlin

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schnei­dewind, pres­i­dent of the Wup­per­tal Insti­tute for Cli­mate, Envi­ron­ment and Energy

Prof. Detlef F. Sprinz, Ph.D., pro­fes­sor at the Fac­ul­ty of Eco­nom­ics and Social Sci­ences, Uni­ver­si­ty of Pots­dam; Senior Sci­en­tist at the Pots­dam Insti­tute for Cli­mate Impact Research (PIK); chair­man emer­i­tus of the Sci­en­tif­ic Com­mit­tee of the Euro­pean Envi­ron­ment Agency (EEA) in Copenhagen

Robert Untereg­ger, co-founder of the Swiss Foun­da­tion Zukun­ft­srat (Future Council)

Prof. Dr. Wern­er Wei­den­feld, pro­fes­sor of Polit­i­cal Sys­tems and Euro­pean Agree­ment at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Munich, direc­tor of the Cen­ter for Applied Pol­i­cy Research (CAP), per­ma­nent Vis­it­ing Pro­fes­sor at the Remnin Uni­ver­si­ty in Bejing, board mem­ber of the Foun­da­tion Ber­tels­mann (in Gütersloh)

Stephanie Weis-Ger­hardt, founder of 4links con­sult­ing with focus on resilience, struc­tur­al change and net­work­ing in the field of sustainability

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäck­er, pres­i­dent of the Club of Rome, for­mer pres­i­dent at the Wup­per­tal Insi­tute for Cli­mate, Envi­ron­ment and Ener­gy, for­mer head of the Ecol­o­gy Com­mit­tee of the gov­ern­ment and the com­mis­sion of Inquiry for Glob­al­i­sa­tion of the World Economy