Leg­isla­tive Prize for Inter­gen­er­a­tional­ly Just Laws

Descrip­tion of the Prize:
At the end of every leg­isla­tive peri­od in Ger­many, the FRFG will award an unre­mu­ner­at­ed prize for a law or leg­isla­tive ini­tia­tive which either removes a present injus­tice that affects future gen­er­a­tions or pro­tects future gen­er­a­tions from future injus­tices. The law should be main­ly based on the prin­ci­ple of inter­gen­er­a­tional jus­tice. The act­ing recip­i­ents of the leg­isla­tive prize could be politi­cians who are either mem­bers of a gov­ern­ment (nation­al gov­ern­ments, EU-Com­mis­sion), mem­bers of a par­lia­ment (Mem­bers of the Euro­pean Par­lia­ment or UK MPs), or incum­bents of a polit­i­cal office (sec­re­tary gen­er­al, board mem­ber, leader of  youth orga­ni­za­tion etc.).

Name of the Prize:
The prize was named “Leg­isla­tive Prize for Gen­er­a­tional­ly Just Laws”

Peri­od­ic­i­ty of the award cer­e­mo­ny:
The prize will be award­ed for the first time in 2014 and then every four years after the fed­er­al elec­tion. Due to the award, the FRFG has the oppor­tu­ni­ty to empha­size the impor­tance of gen­er­a­tional­ly just laws and fur­ther encour­age the mem­bers of the new leg­is­la­ture to con­tin­ue this pos­i­tive devel­op­ment. Thus, the FRFG is able to pro­vide a con­ti­nu­ity in terms of inter­gen­er­a­tional jus­tice between the altern­ing gov­ern­ments.

Eval­u­a­tion and selec­tion process:
Due to its dai­ly work, the FRFG has a good overview of laws and leg­isla­tive ini­tia­tives being inter­gen­er­a­tional just. In order to deter­mine if a law has a pos­i­tive influ­ence on inter­gen­er­a­tional jus­tice, a cat­a­log of cri­te­ria was elab­o­rat­ed (impact of the law, con­tri­bu­tion to inter­gen­er­a­tional jus­tice, inter­gen­er­a­tional jus­tice as jus­ti­fi­ca­tion, lev­el of inno­va­tion, par­tic­i­pa­tion of young peo­ple, tem­po­ral con­tin­u­ance, etc.). The selec­tion process is done in coop­er­a­tion with a jury. Regard­ing the Leg­isla­tive Prize for Gen­er­a­tional­ly Just Laws in 2014, the jury con­sist­ed of experts and rep­re­sen­ta­tives of the Sci­en­tif­ic Advi­so­ry Board of the FRFG and a FRFG board mem­ber.

The Jury:
The jury is com­prised of experts from the FRFG Sci­en­tif­ic Advi­so­ry Board as well as a mem­ber of the Board of Direc­tors. To date, the FRFG has secured the ser­vices of the fol­low­ing indi­vid­u­als to act as jury mem­bers:

  • Dr. Bet­ti­na Munimus (Rep­re­sen­ta­tive of the FRFG)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Franz Josef Rader­ma­ch­er (Sci­en­tif­ic Advi­so­ry Board)
  • Dr. Maja Göpel (Wup­per­tal Insti­tute for Cli­mate, Envi­ron­ment and Ener­gy)
  • Prof. Dr. Ute Mager (Cen­ter for Sus­tain­able Research, Uni­ver­si­ty of Hei­del­berg)
  • Prof. Dr. Miran­da Schreurs  (Lei­t­erin der Forschungsstelle für Umwelt­poli­tik, Freie Uni­ver­sität Berlin)

This year, the FRFG is going to award the nuclear phase-out law resolved by the 17th Bun­destag.

Award cer­e­mo­ny 2014:
The award cer­e­mo­ny of the Leg­isla­tive Prize for Gen­er­a­tional­ly Just Laws took place on Tues­day, April 8, 2014 in Berlin at the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA School of Gov­er­nance. As part of the coop­er­a­tion with the Uni­ver­si­ty, the award cer­e­mo­ny is inte­grat­ed with­in the Plenum­s­tri­a­log for ener­gy tran­si­tion of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA School of Gov­er­nance.
For more infor­ma­tion about the Tri­alo­grei­he for ener­gy tran­si­tion, see: www.trialog — energiewende.org

The Leg­isla­tive Prize for Gen­er­a­tional­ly Just Laws was hand­ed over to young par­lia­ment mem­bers from the four frac­tions of the 18th Bun­destag. On the one hand, the young MP’s are rep­re­sen­ta­tives of the young gen­er­a­tions and their inter­ests due to their age. On the oth­er hand, the FRFG wants to use the media pres­ence at the award cer­e­mo­ny to encour­age the MP’s to con­tin­ue the inter­gen­er­a­tional devel­op­ment in terms of ener­gy tran­si­tion dur­ing the leg­isla­tive of the 18th Bun­destag.