The FRFG awards each two years the Demography award to young researchers. This time the awards topic is:

„How can opportunities für young people be activated in regions with a shrinking population?“

The Institute for a Better Demographic Future awards the Demography Prize for Young Scientists every two years since 2007. The deadline for all entries was September 1st 2009. Also its second edition, 2008/2009, is characterized by the high quality of the replies: ten articles written by a total of 17 European authors are in the final round of the competition. It is also remarkable that the authors come from a great variety of scientific fields: ethnology, social sciences, political science, cultural management, economics, psychology, social pedagogy, philosophy, journalism, geography and business administration. The diversity of the articles thereby mirrors the interdisciplinary relevance of the topic. In addition to their overall quality, the papers feature new, innovative approaches and interdisciplinary research designs.

The jury has awarded three of the submitted articles.

First Award:
“Möglichkeiten und Chancen junger Menschen in schrumpfenden Städten” (full text) by Felix Kroh

und „Verschwend´ nicht deine Jugend“ (full text) by Karsten Bär, Anja Erdmann and Corinna Hamann

Special Award:
„Zachte G: a modern approach towards building networks for young people in a shrinking region“ (full text) by Maya Rocak and Maurice Hermans


On March 5th 2010 the winners were honoured during the proceedings of a symposium where they were also given the opportunity to present their work.

You can find more information on the 2nd Demography Prize, as well as the awarded works, here (in German).


The Jury is made up of:

• Dr. Christine Hannemann (Humboldt-University of Berlin)

• Prof. Dr. Rolf Kreibich (Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment, Berlin)

• Prof. Dr. Heinrich Mäding (Academy for Spatial Research and Planning, Hannover)

• Dr. Hans-Ulrich Oel (

• Gertrude Penn-Bressel (Federal Environmental Agency of Germany)

• Sylvia Schenk (ex-Councillor of Frankfurt/Main, Chairwoman of Transparency International Deutschland)

• Prof. Dr. Udo Simonis (Social Science Research Center Berlin)